top of page

Sylvia Plath's Toll House Cookies

Anyone who's known me for a while knows that one of my many obsessions over the past few years has been Sylvia Plath. So when a few weeks ago, Sotheby's was auctioning off a set of her recipes and one of her old rolling pins, I may have spiralled. Whilst I did not buy the lot (which sold for £20,160, MAY I ADD), Sotheby's did give us a sneak peek of one of her recipes - her Toll House Cookies. So I did what any obsessive would, and recreated them in my kitchen.


They are genuinely the simplest and tastiest cookies I've ever made. No need for chilling for hours, no need for fancy or hard to find ingredients. The below recipe will make around 20 cookies.

 

Ingredients

110gr butter, softened

90gr white sugar

85gr brown sugar

1 egg

1/2tsp baking soda

200gr plain flour

1tsp milk

1tsp vanilla essence

60gr chopped nuts

100gr milk chocolate (you can use chips, chunks, chopped up chocolate - I went for roughly chopped giant buttons)


Method

1. Preheat the oven to 170 degrees celsius. In a large mixing bowl, whisk together the softened butter and white and brown sugar until light and fluffy. Add the egg and whisk until incorporated.


2. Sieve the flour and baking soda into the butter, sugar, and egg mixture. Mix until well incorporated, adding the milk and vanilla.

3. Chop up your chocolate and add to the mixture along with the chopped nuts.


4. Line 2 baking sheets with baking paper. Drop the batter onto the sheet using a teaspoon measure. (Plath uses a 1/2 teaspoon measure, but I found this to be too small personally. I also went the extra step of rolling the batter into balls, allowing them to bake more evenly).

5. Bake the cookies for 10-15 minutes, or until the edges turn golden. In Plath's words - these require close watching!


6. Allow to cool on a wire rack.

Recreating this recipe? Tag me on instagram @juliawgr!

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page